dolphinling ([info]dolphinling) wrote,
@ 2005-01-03 21:39:00
Previous Entry  Add to memories!  Tell a Friend  Next Entry
Current mood: irritated

Spam that I really, really want to report to somewhere.

Most of the time when you get spam, if it passes through your filters you just hit "j" to mark it junk, and never bother with it again, except to delete it and compress the folders. Every once in a while, though, you get a piece of spam that really irks you, like this one I just got today:

From - Mon Jan  3 21:36:34 2005
X-Account-Key: account1
X-UIDL: 3fa7318900003b7f
X-Mozilla-Status: 0001
X-Mozilla-Status2: 00000000
Received: via dmail-2000(11) for +INBOX; Mon, 3 Jan 2005 18:45:47 -0600 (CST)
Received: from rs10.luxsci.com ([10.225.3.202])
        by rs16.luxsci.com (8.12.11/8.12.11) with ESMTP id j040jlL7024460
        for <user-5561@rs16.luxsci.com>; Mon, 3 Jan 2005 18:45:47 -0600
Received: from rs10.luxsci.com (localhost [127.0.0.1])
        by rs10.luxsci.com (8.12.11/8.12.11) with ESMTP id j040jlP6011050
        for <user-5561@rs16.luxsci.com>; Mon, 3 Jan 2005 18:45:47 -0600
Received: (from mail@localhost)
        by rs10.luxsci.com (8.12.11/8.12.11/Submit) id j040jlpk011049
        for user-5561@rs16.luxsci.com; Mon, 3 Jan 2005 18:45:47 -0600
Return-Path: <mentors@incomeopportunity.ws>
Received: from p00m166.mxlogic.net (p00m166.mxlogic.net [66.179.109.166])
        by rs10.luxsci.com (8.12.11/8.12.11) with SMTP id j040jkYE011037
        for <dolphinling@delphiforums.com>; Mon, 3 Jan 2005 18:45:47 -0600
Received: from unknown [210.245.197.4] (EHLO 1million2006.com)
        by p00m166.mxlogic.net (mxl_mta-2.5.0-63)
        with ESMTP id b37e9d14.2693663664.11516.p00m166.mxlogic.net (envelope-from <mentors@incomeopportunity.ws>);
        Mon, 03 Jan 2005 17:45:47 -0700 (MST)
Received: (from mentors@incomeopportunity.ws) by 1million2006.com (8.12.9p2/8.12.9/Submit) id 24zl4Oq1cN.4Y) for dolphinling@delphiforums.com; Mon Jan  3 20:51:38 2005) (envelope-from mentors@incomeopportunity.ws))
Message-Id: <1104756698.24134.24zl4Oq1cN.4Y@1million2006.com>
Date: Mon,  3 Jan 2005 12:51:38 GMT
From: "Scott Reese" <mentors@incomeopportunity.ws>
To: dolphinling@delphiforums.com
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
X-Return-Path: mentors@incomeopportunity.ws
Errors-To: mentors@incomeopportunity.ws
X-Mailer: GDI Mailer (0.02...7739)
Subject: dolphinling.net is yours, right?
X-Spam: exempt
X-MAIL-FROM: <mentors@incomeopportunity.ws>
X-SOURCE-IP: [210.245.197.4]
X-Lux-Processed-For: user #5561 on rs10.luxsci.com
X-Lux-Envelope-Recipient: <dolphinling@delphiforums.com>
X-Lux-Rule: Deliver
X-Lux-Processed-For: user #5561 on rs16.luxsci.com
X-Lux-Delivered-To: "INBOX"
Status:

Hello,

Scott Reese here. I was wondering how you are doing with
dolphinling.net?

I've earned substantial money with my web site, partnering
with a California-based and Inc. 500 ranked Internet company
that is growing like wildfire - and it never cost me a penny
to get started.

If you're interested in generating an income online, I was
wondering if you would be willing to review this short flash
movie and let me know what you think?

http://simplehomebusiness.biz/scottreese

You can either check out that URL, or call my phone number
below for a brief 3-minute recorded overview.

This is an exploding opportunity in a $20 billion per
year industry, and it's growing very quickly worldwide.

If what you see and hear interests you, I'll show you how
to use dolphinling.net with this to make a serious income that
will grow each month and come to you for years.

Anyway, just thought I would ask. I'm doing well with this
and I'm very curious to know if other website owners find
the concept as interesting as I have.

Thank you in advance for your time. I know it's valuable.

Scott Reese
760-494-4355









If you wish to never receive an email from me again,
please go here: http://1million2006.com/delete.html

     Box 10715 * College Station, TX 77842

Since I just got my domain name yesterday, this person is obviously monitoring DNS changes and spamming anyone on the list. Is there somewhere I can report this to?

Oh, yeah, and my domain's through DNS now! http://dolphinling.net/ :-) Still working on a few things with my friend who I share the hosting costs with before I actually do anything with it, but YAY!!




(2 comments) - (Post a new comment)

Received the same spam message today!
[info]larkymarky
2005-03-14 02:45 am UTC (link)
And like you, I only registered the domain yesterday (it's a .BIZ domain).

I don't quite know how they are doing it but in my eyes, the .BIZ registry (and others) must be leaking new domain registrations out to external organisations that are then notifying people of newly registered domains. Then spammers get their hands on this information and have a field day :) That's the only way it seems possible given the fact the spam email arrived within 48 hours of the domain being registered.

Very queer indeed!

(Reply to this) (Thread)

Re: Received the same spam message today!
(Anonymous)
2005-04-22 04:37 pm UTC (link)
Yep, I just got spammed by this dork as well.
I think the DNS system is broken on the whois end.

(Reply to this) (Parent)


(2 comments) - (Post a new comment)

Create an Account
Forgot your login or password?
Login w/ OpenID
English • Español • Deutsch • Русский…